Federer def. Bolelli 6-2, 6-3
written: 2:10 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 25, 2008

First, I'd like to state for the record that Eurosport is the worst sports channel ever. Ever. Not only did they rob me of 75% of the first set, they showed some super long Eurosport advert that totally cut into like, two points of Bolelli's service game. Eurosport = massive fail. And the best part? Roger actually played decent today, and I didn't get to see it. I didn't get to see how Roger first broke Bolelli in the first set. Thanks, Eurosport. I really appreciate your service.

SuperSports is my favourite. Whoever doesn't show stupid adverts during the players' rest time gets in my good books, and SuperSports treated me to a lot of Roger drinking water time, Roger changing shirts time (!!!), Roger walking to his chair time. And you know what? I actually want to see all of these things, so cutting to some irrelevant commercials instead is just utterly inconsiderate. I wish SuperSports would cover all of ATP's events, but alas, it is not to be.

Anyway! Now that that's out of the way, let me get something else out of the way before I talk semi-serious: Bolelli? He is sooooo cute omg. He totally has the dark-haired Italian thing going on, and I felt bad that he was getting thrashed by Roger because he's sooooo cute. If I had a "Guys I'd Totally Do" list, he'd totally make my list. Too bad he's not Federer, which is why he couldn't win. But apparently his one and only tennis idol is Roger, so yeah, he's awesome. And really, really cute. Omg, I love watching tennis; so many hot European men. Yum.

Anyway, more seriously now. Roger totally turned it on during the last four games, especially his penultimate service game. He played much, MUCH better at the net today than yesterday, thereby proving that yesterday was just some strange alternate universe can't-play-at-net Federer inhabiting the real Roger's body. I'm glad the real Federer is back, because boy, is he fucking awesome or what. I was quite glad Roger didn't break Bolelli when Roger was up 5-2 and had two match points on B's serve; to begin with Eurosport robbed me of most of the first set, so I didn't get to see much of the match. If Roger had broken him to win, it would've meant one less game, which would've meant less Roger time. And yes, I do complain a lot when he takes ten million years to win, but those times weren't times like today when Eurosport messed up massively. Today I hardly got to see him, so naturally his failure to convert three match points made me happy as I got to watch him serve it out - and he did so at love! Two aces in a row - cheap points, to be sure, but who cares how he wins as long as he wins.

Hmm, it's quite sad that I have a lot more to say when he struggled to win like he did against Reynolds or when he won really fugly like he did against Nieminen, because there's really nothing to say when he wins in straight sets, and when I didn't even get to see most of the first set. Fucking stupid Eurosport. I'll never forget this.

Oh well! Roger faces the very supremely pretty Feliciano Lopez in the semi, and my darling leads their head-to-head 6-0 so I'm tentatively expectant and hopeful. As expected, in the other half of the draw, Del Potro faces Nalbandian. That should be interesting to watch though I don't think they're gonna show it.

Okay I'm sleepy and I gotta wake up at 8 to play tennis so yay for an easy win, at long last, and nay to Eurosport for shortening an already short match!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010