Too lazy to think of a proper title.
written: 1:58 a.m. on Thursday, Aug. 13, 2009

My laptop is seriously driving me crazy. It's slowed down significantly, such that everytime my Firefox takes 5 seconds longer than usual to open (and I know this because I know how fast it used to open), I'd inevitably start to get irritated. If I have MSN on, and the game in the previous entry on, then my browser has an 80% chance of crashing.

Just now my browser fucking crashed. Right in the midst of writing a new entry. And I didn't even have MSN on (though I think blogs with embedded YouTube videos slow down my laptop too). HATE it when this happens, but thankfully the first third was about inconsequential tennis stuff so it was THAT bad. But it's still fucking irritating. Time to get a new laptop; this is getting quite ridiculous.

Anyway, I wanted to say three things in this entry:

1. Montreal Masters: Federer d. Niemeyer 7-6(2), 6-4.

Lazy to write in prose form, so point form:

A

-Niemeyer didn't play like the #483 journeyman that he is

-That double fault in the tie-break must've hurt like a bitch, especially since he was playing so well up till then

-Did not expect a tie-break AT ALL.

-Niemeyer was down 0-30 in his opening game. I was all, "I woke up at 7 AM for THIS?"

-Roger had a break point which Niemeyer snuffed out with a big first serve.

-Tie-break time. Was getting nervous, then actually anticipated correctly that Niemeyer would serve a DF when he was serving at 2-3. And he did.

-Totally sucks to serve a DF in a tie-break 'cause every point counts. Not worse than DF-ing on match point (Verdasco vs. Nadal, Australian Open 2009 semi-final) or break point, but definitely #3 on list of Worst Possible Moments to Serve a Double Fault.

-Niemeyer played well. Played well above what his ranking suggests. Very pleasantly surprised. Roger and him exchanged what looked like kind words at the net.

B

-Roger's new outfit is more of the same: Another Bloody Blue Shirt. Not impressed.

-Roger's tennis was as expected. First tournament since winning Wimbledon. The rust was expected.

-Serve was on though. Very good.

-Want to see him play Tsonga. Tsonga's an absolute joy to watch when he's playing well. Wanna see his all-court game match up with Roger's. Surely he'd do better now than he did in Madrid last year (that was quite...atrocious. And a let-down).

2. Happy Times #1

Tuesday was a good day despite classes, because Mag and I walked to Central from the Supreme Court after Civil Procedure where we proceeded to buy Yummy Bread from Provence and then sat in a very empty and quiet O'Briens to eat and talk. We finished the whole packet. I ate two slices of toast. I was very full after that.

I love Mag. Very much. My life would suck without her, and it wouldn't be the same without her, and bloody hell, it WILL be empty and boring without her.

Thanks Mag, therefore, for a great post-lecture, pre-tutorial afternoon. Of course, it made me NOT want to go for tutorial, but it put me in a good mood for tutorial. Yay. Love Mag lots!

3. Happy Times #2

Wednesday: I bought three new pieces of clothing for a grand total of $108. I am very, very proud of myself.

Met Tong at Orchard. Walked around Ion - still don't really care for the place. And the air-con from level 1 upwards totally wasn't working. And there was also totally nothing to buy there, for obvious reasons. Saw a random top at some random boutique on one of the higher levels - top was made in Italy. Therefore it cost $999 I guess?

Whatevs. I'm sorry, but I refuse to pay such ridiculous amounts of money for a piece of clothing. It's definitely true that I can't afford it; but even if I could, I think I have better things to spend on than mere clothes. I love clothes, to be sure; but I'm not going to pay $999 for some top that doesn't look like it's $999. I'm sure as hell NOT going to pay $70 for Mango jeans when I can get it at half price during the sale. Also NOT going to pay $53 for some cheap-looking, badly-constructed F21 dress when I can pay less for something better elsewhere.

I sound cheapskate, but I'm not. I buy cheaply, but I buy a lot. Okay, I used to buy a lot; I've lost a lot of my buying prowess over the past year or so. I have no idea why. Maybe I've grown up.

Still, let it be said that, when I'm looking at clothes, I'd have a pricetag in mind, i.e. how much I'm willing to pay for it. If the real price exceeds my ideal price, then I wouldn't bother. And most of the time, the real price exceeds my ideal price by quite a bit.

IT'S NOT MY FAULT MASS-PRODUCED CLOTHES SOMETIMES LOOK CHEAP. And have bad quality. Really. Mango dresses are pretty much not worth buying, even when they're on sale. The quality is SO bad, you practically can't wear it after the first wash. The dress I wore to my 21st thingy had its front sagging after the first wash. I wore it once more, and that was it. I think I'll throw it away soon.

Okay, whatever. Before I move on, I'd like to say that I was SO shocked when I saw a pair of Mango jeans going for $45 - REGULAR PRICE - that I bought it, nevermind that 1) my legs felt hot in it; and 2) it looked like the F21 pair I wore, just darker. And longer. Yep. Dammit, $45 for jeans? I'D TAKE IT.

Moving on now. The point of today's excursion to Orchard was to eat the famous panna cotta at the Cineleisure food court. It used to be at Anchorpoint. I know this because Mag raved to me about it for the whole of law school. Then one day when Tong and I were eating panna cotta at Modesto's, he mentioned that the best panna cotta ever was in a food court. I thought it was Mag's panna cotta, and I was right.

So we went today to eat and fuck it was AMAZING. SERIOUSLY DAMN GOOD. Better than Modesto's. And it was only $1.80. SERIOUSLY. I'm never going to order panna cotta at a restaurant ever again.

If only they made tiramisu that good, right? Oh well!

So after that, guess what we did? It's so geek I almost don't wanna say, but because it's so geek, it HAS to be said.

We got some PC room at Level 9 and played Evony.

FUCK, RIGHT? I KNOW.

Okay after that we watched some random DVD, after confirming that there was nothing to watch in the theatres, so it wasn't THAT bad.

Okay, totally out of defences. I hang my head in shame.

Speaking of the game, Tong told me to attack some guy with lots of loot and I attacked him three times to up my spoils. I came home, checked my thing, and found that the guy's alliance declared war with mine. My alliance chatbox was all abuzz with the news, and they were all, "It was tripwires. He (sic) sent three waves of attack to that guy."

HAHAHAHAHA. I felt quite bad, but they were all, "Bring it on!" so I stopped feeling bad after a while. Some guy from the attacked fool's alliance sent me a message telling me I was gonna die.

Right. I felt like replying, "That's nice. But I don't care. It's just a game." I decided against it, in case I caused more trouble for other people.

Blah. I don't normally play online MMORPGs because they're so troublesome and I like playing games at my own pace. But this damn game is so addictive. When the attack was imminent, I thought I'd just abandon my city if I got annihilated; but I teleported out of there, thus dodging a bullet.

AND I don't know why I'm talking about this.

I'm going to sleep. Very, very sleepy. Was out practically the whole day. Tired max. But worth it, 'cause it was Tong. That goes without saying.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010