first sign of boredom: a survey
written: 5:59 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2002

I got this from Alithiel, who used it as a bio and who writes beautifully. (I'm sure that sentence was grammatically wrong but hell.)

***

Name: Yelen.

Nickname(s): Goddess Almighty, self-picked. Haha. Lanny, Yel, Yeye, trip, edith.

Birthday: July 14, 1986.

Age: 16.

Location: Singapore.

Nationality: Singaporean.

Height: 165 cm.

Weight: 52 kg, though sometimes I'm in denial. I used to be 46. I put on two kilos by sitting around after dinner everyday and sometimes even lying on my bed immediately after food. It's not good.

Status: I have a boyfriend, but that's about it.

Clothes: Yeah, I've got clothes, why?

Mood: They're wild, like fire.

Music: Mostly alternative, but I like a few classical composers. But we know, of course, that by the word 'classical', I'm actually not referring to the Classical period, although, admittedly, Beethoven was a real genius, but referring to the four periods in general. If you know music, I'll tell you now that my favourite period is the Romantic period. Yep. I think Franz Lizst is hot. Um, was hot. He wrote beautiful music too.

Taste: Salt when I'm hungry, junk when I'm not.

Hair: Black and long, and hard to tie. Pisses me off every morning. It also tends to curl upon drying.

Annoyance: Pop-up ads, broken promises, crowds, mobile phones, annoying kids that run around on MRTs and yell like idiots when I'm trying to sleep. And a whole lot more.

Smell: I like Gucci Envy. It does tend to give me a headache though.

Thing I ought to be doing: Studying for Science O Level practical tomorrow but I don't know how to study for practical, and I'm too lazy.

Desktop picture: Joaquin Phoenix, in all his almighty beauty.

Favorite Group: Um, I like Silverchair. But they are a band.

Favorite Book: The Catcher in the Rye and The Basketball Diaries. I really wish we were doing Catcher for Lit instead of To Kill A Mockingbird. Catcher is a wonderful book.

CD in CD Player: Jay Chou's latest (I can';t remember its title), Foo Fighter's "There Is Nothing Left To Lose", and Scream 3 soundtrack.

Worry: O Levels. Sigh.

Crush: Perpetual crush on Joaquin Phoenix. I can't help it. He's simply divine. Also, on Gen, obviously.

Favorite Celebrity: Joaquin Phoenix. All his movies rock. U-Turn was a little...eccentric, and Joaq had only three scenes, but he was so funny that it was worth sitting through about 2 hours of J-Lo doing nothing but pout and flaut her stupid butt around.

***

Last Person

You Talked to: My brother, who's next to me now and annoying me.

You Hugged: Probably Mom.

You Icqed: That was like. A year ago? I know I have pretty good memory but it's not THAT good.

You Yelled at: Brother. Durrrr.

You Had a Crush on: Gen.

Who Broke Your Heart: Ian, but that's history, dead and buried.

Favorite

Food: Italian. I'm thinking it's no coincidence that Gen and I should meet. He got posted to my favourite restaurant, of all places. Any thoughts?

Drink: Lipton tea with milk, made by myself.

Colour: I don't have a favourite colour.

Album: Neon Ballroom by Silverchair. It's my depression album.

Candy: Skittles.

Animal: Hamsters.

TV Show: Scrubs is quite funny. I watched the premiere yesterday. I like JD. Love it when he banged into the screen door. Also Alias, Gilmore Girls, Buffy, Friends. Alias rules though. It's the ultimate. And David Anders, my god, what a cutie. Haha.

Movies: Rebel Without A Cause, Quills, Signs, Dea Poets Society, The Bourne Identity, Good Will Hunting, The Basketball Diaries, Running On Empty, and you can find more here. Really, my fanlist page is taken up mostly by movies. I love movies.

Dance: Flamenco is the best, and not because it's Spanish. I didn't know it was Spanish actually, until a while ago. But it's really nice. Great rhythm and style. (Not that I'd know but let's just pretend all right?)

Song: Right now it's Hui Dao Guo Qu by Jay Chou. Going back to the past, in a rough translation. I'd post the lyrics one day, but they won't be in English as I suck at translating and I don't want to undermine his words. (Or at least, the words of the person who wrote the lyrics. They are good.)

Vegetables: Tomatoes.

Fruit: Peach, rock melon from Spain (tastes extra sweet, and it's not just me; even my family agrees), mango, longan.

Cartoon: I like Slam Dunk. Sakuragi is cute and very funny. Though I can't understand why he likes that Haruko chick.

***

Who do you want to:

Slap: My brother. He's so annoying.

Get Really Wasted with: Gen. Haha.

Get High with: No, don't do drugs. Alcohol is still okay, but not drugs.

Tickle: Brother. As a form of torture.

Look Like: Myself.

Talk to Online: I don't.

***

Random

I need: Celene's brain. She's such a genius. I mean, 11 distinctions for prelims? My god, I'd die for her results.

I find: Myself being EXTREEEEMELY lazy. Which is not good, at all.

I wish: I could be with Gen everyday.

I love: Myself and you.

I hate: Mosquitoes.

I miss: Gen.

I fear: Being ordinary.

I feel: Itchy all over. Bloody wenzi. (Mosquito in Chinese.)

I hear: Some car driving by.

I crave: Being kissed.

I wonder: If tomorrow's practical would be a piece of cake.

***

When Was the Last Time I...

Smiled?: Today.

Laughed?: Today.

Cried?: I don't know.

Bought Something?: Yesterday. I was at school.

Danced?: Been a long time. I want to go clubbing after the O Levels. Who wants to join me?

Were Sarcastic?: Today.

***

What was the...

Last movie you saw?: The Bourne Identity. It rocked the theatre.

Last book you read?: I'm reading Shadow Across the Sun by Margaret Campbell. It's quite boring but I wanted to know what was the scandal that would shatter the lives of the lovers in the book, as stated in the blurb. Turns out I guessed correctly. I just knew the guy was going to be the girl's brother. Ack. They almost had sex. Ack.

Last song you heard?: Some Nelly song. On MTV. I channel-surfed.

Last thing you had to drink?: Tea.

Last thing you ate?: Peach.

Last time you showered: Last night.

***

Do you...

Smoke?: No.

Do drugs?: No.

Sleep with stuffed animals?: No. Allergic.

Live in the moment?: As in the carpe diem way? I don't think so.

Have recurring dreams? I doubt it.

Play an instrument?: The piano, sort of, and the recorder.

Remember your first love?: With.

Read the newspaper?: I read Life! religiously.

Have any gay or lesbian friends? Nope.

Believe in miracles?: Surprises, yes.

Believe its possible to remain faithful forever?: I don't know right now. Don't ask me. Next.

Consider yourself tolerant of others?: Kind of, yes. I put up with people's shit, as I can't be bothered with confrontations.

Consider love a mistake?: Love cannot be a mistake. It is the sole reason for human survival. We don't simply be; we are for a reason. Love is the reason. (Oh my god, I should be remembered for these words.)

Believe in magic?: David Copperfield is GOD!

Believe in God?: No, I don't, despite my previous claim.

Pray?: No.

Go to church/synagogue?: No.

Have any secrets? Well Duh.

Have any pets? They're dead.

Go to or plan on going to college? I'm planning to go to college in New York but who knows that would work out. First I need to ace the O Levels and get myself a place in Hwa Chong's Humanities Programme. Which would be a real feat.

Talk to random people?: Nope.

Wear hats?: I'm not into hats.

Piercings?: None. At all.

Tattooes?: None.

Collect anything?: CDs, DVDs (small but modest collection), Joaquin stuff. Lame things.

Wished on stars?: No.

Like your handwriting?: Yeah, it's the greatest.

Have any bad habits?: I pick at the skin around my fingers. They are always falling off.

Believe in witches?: Um. No.

Believe in ghosts?: To a certain extent.

Favorite guy name: Joaquin. It's beautiful.

Favorite girl name: Jeez, I don't know. Carmen.

Favorite scent: Gen. He always smells so nice.

Favorite ice cream: A few.

Dream job: Professional writer, international best-seller. Because I'm that good. (Yeah right.)

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010